Why Did You Study Computer Science?

Abdul Azeez
2 min readDec 8, 2017

One of my mentors recently asked me the question while I was preparing my statement of purpose “Why did you study computer science?”. For a long time, I was convinced that I studied computer science because of the movie 24, but well, yes, watching that movie was a great inspiration, but there was yet another reason why I decided to study computer science.

I studied computer science because I wanted to know more about the computer. I was not satisfied simply knowing that the computer would work when you switch it on, the mouse would move a cursor on the screen when you move it, I really wanted to know why all that happened. I guess I simply wanted to know more.

I would sit in cyber cafes for hours browsing through the internet learning from how the RAM works to how the computer screen works. I was indeed obsessed with understanding how it all works maybe I can one day create my own computer. Well, I like to really be in charge. So when I am handed a computer and I do not know how it works, I am a little impressed with seeing the computer working. I am more impressed when I understand how it works.

Maybe it is for this reason that during my undergraduate days, I would first try to write out my programming assignments on paper to better understand precisely how the computer would reason it before I sent it to the computer for processing. For me, it was not about solving the problem but understanding how the computer runs the program.

Maybe this is why I continue to pursue studies in Computer Science. I believe this is why I keep on going everyday learning as much as I can in the field of computer science.

I am also lucky to not have only learned how the computer works, but I have also been lucky in teaching how it works. For me, learning was about understanding, but that was not complete until I have taught someone else.

This makes the knowledge easily accessible to others. Because what else would be the use of knowledge if others do not benefit from it.

Well, this is all I can remember about why I decided to study computer science and I continue to pursue studies in computer science.

Feel free to share. Why did you study the course you studied?

Hoping to hear from you soon.

Thanks and God bless.

--

--

Abdul Azeez

A Java Developer By Day, Python Developer By Night. Becoming Better Day by Day is my Ambition